Planes, panic and problems || York day 1 - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu Planes, panic and problems || York day 1 - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu

Planes, panic and problems || York day 1

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kim

25 Februari 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

'These suitcases are definitely gonna be too heavy', my mom said this morning. I was just eating my breakfast, crackers with chocolate sprinkles, and my uncle would pick us up in about 30 minutes to go to the airport. 'How many books did you pack?', my parents asked me. 'I only packed two!', I responded, not planning on leaving any of those home. I finished my breakfast and went upstairs to brush my teeth. 'You packed way too many clothes!', I heard my mom say to my dad, 'We're only going for a few days!'. But, as far as I know, my dad didn't take out any clothes.

About an hour later, we were at the airport. My uncle drove us there and everything went surprisingly smoothly. We had to get our luggage checked and my mother's deodorant broke, since it was a glass bottle. We had some time left and went to drink something. Well... We wanted to go and drink something. It took quite long until we got our drinks. We drank as much as we could in 2 minutes, which wasn't very much, since my mom and I ordered tea and my dad ordered coffee. Tom, my little brother, had fanta, so he could actually drink quite a lot in 2 minutes.

'We're going with that plane', my dad said to Tom. He was pointing at a plane with black and yellow decorations, which appeared to be from a German soccerclub. It appeared he was right and we actually went with that plane. While going into the plane, I asked my mom: 'What's so special about this plane? Why are they so happy about it?'. That was where my mom explained that it was from a German soccer club, Borussia Dortmund.

While in the plane, I listened to a lot of music, since I forgot to take a book from my suitcase. 'Do you want something to drink?', my mom asked after a while, 'Or something to eat?'. 'Nah', I responded, we would only be on the plane for about 1 hour and 30 minutes, so I didn't think that drinks or food would be of any use. But then my mom showed me a muffin which looked so extremely good. It was huge and it had chocolate, what else could a girl want? So eventually, I actually took the muffin, because my entire view on food being useless on this short trip was changed and that all by a huge muffin with chocolate.

We arrived in Manchester and we had to show our passports. 'Do you have a passport?', a man from the airport asked. 'Errr... No, I have an id-card', I answered. I started panicking. 'Then you have to go this way', the man said. A few seconds later, my mom followed. 'I started panicking already,' I told her, 'what if they wouldn't let me in with my id? I can imagine perfectly that there's something wrong with mine and that I can't go.' My mom started laughing. 5 to 10 minutes later we entered Manchester without any problems.

'O my god this place looks so nice!' I told Tom. We entered a little cafe where we could have lunch. It was full of books and it was decorated completely in my style. We got ourselves some food and drinks and it was really nice. While eating, our place granted us with a view on a roundabout and, suddenly, 'Of course, everyone drives at the left side of the road!', I said to Tom. 'Yeah, obviously, didn't you notice earlier?', he replied. I confessed I hadn't and felt pretty stupid after that.

It's 13:06, we've taken seats in the train and it just left the station. We sat with the four of us together, we even claimed a table, and we decided to play Skip-Bo, which is a game with cards. We'd never played it before, so we first had to find out how it works. 'I've played it once,' I said, 'but I played it with my nephews, so I don't know if we did it entirely right.' Eventually, we found out how it works and started playing the game. My dad won the first round and he stopped. 'Scared to lose', Tom said. I stopped as well, since I didn't feel like playing another round. Around 14:40 we arrived in York.

'Kim, we gotta make a picture of you with a York sign!', my mom said. So, obviously, we took a picture. We left the station and had to find the hotel. It was an amazing walk through the centre of York, since it looks absolutely beautiful. Once we found the hotel, we could finally let go of our suitcases. We dragged them along the entire day and the sound became pretty annoying.

'I claim that bed!', Tom yelled. About a second later, I was laying on that same bed. 'I claimed it already', Tom said. I didn't move though. After a while I found out that there wasn't a wall socket near that bed, so I moved to the other bed. I wonder if he noticed already. We finally had internet, so I updated some of my friends about the fact that we'd arrived. I received a few other messages from that morning from people wishing me luck, they'd sent them when I'd left home already, so I read them a bit later, it was really sweet though.

My dad wanted to see the Shambles. This is a really small street and it's super cute. There was also a shop which had a Harry Potter poster on its window and I obviously think that needs an entire sentence to itself. We had dinner at the Pizza Hut. Tom really likes pizza, so that's the main reason we went there. It tasted really good, but that's often the case when it comes to pizza.

We went back to the hotel and I wanted to start writing my blog on my laptop. My laptop misses a part, so it needs a certain usb-stick to connect with the internet. I never knew that the usb-stick in my laptop was meant for that, so I never dared to take it out. Consequently, my usb-stick broke while travelling and now my laptop can't connect with the internet. In the hotel where I'm staying this night, are two computers which are free to use, but they didn't work either. Long live technology!

At this moment I'm writing my blog from my mobile phone, so if there are any spelling mistakes, it's probably due to that. Tomorrow I'm gonna meet my host family and I'm really looking forward to it!

I'll write again tomorrow!

  • 26 Februari 2017 - 21:40

    Winette:

    Lieve Kim,
    Je bent inmiddels bij het gastgezin en ik hoorde al van je moeder dat het super leuke mensen zijn. Geniet van je reis en blijf van die leuke verhalen schrijven. Ik blijf ze volgen!!
    Groetjes Winette

  • 27 Februari 2017 - 10:43

    Saskia:

    Hoi Kim
    Super leuk om je blog te lezen en je zo te volgen.
    Heel veel plezier in Engeland! !! Geniet er van! !!
    Groetjes Saskia

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kim

Hi! I'm going to York for my internship and I'll keep a blog to keep you up-to-date with my super amazing adventures... No just kidding, my adventures aren't very super amazing hahaha

Actief sinds 14 Feb. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 269
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8423

Voorgaande reizen:

25 Februari 2017 - 12 Maart 2017

York internship

Landen bezocht: