Gods, games and Greece || York day 12 - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu Gods, games and Greece || York day 12 - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu

Gods, games and Greece || York day 12

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kim

08 Maart 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

(Still going strong on the alliteration part)

This morning I wake up and I realise I've slept for the entire night! Yes! I don't know why suddenly, but I did, so I'm happy. I have to hear 'Finn hurry up!' and, as soon as Finn's left, 'Billy hurry up!' for the entire time, but you get used to it pretty quickly. I take my lunch and around 08:15 we leave.

At the Junior School, the kids start with doing a little test on the homophones they'd practiced yesterday and they did quite well I think. After that, we continued on Ancient Greece, which I find really fun, because I actually know stuff about it. Not in English though, but it's still quite nice. Mrs. Block talks about the differences between Athens and Sparta and it's really funny to notice that some information has been left out that, for Greek stories, is actually quite important. Such as the fact that in Athens, most women weren't allowed to leave their houses, because their husbands were scared of them cheating. But of course you don't tell that to kids, so you just leave that information out.

Around 10:15 we go to assembly/worship which is just really basic talking about Jesus, but, despite being baptised, I'm not very religious or something, so I feel a bit awkward there, especially when everyone starts praying at the end. After that it's playtime.

At 11:00 we do maths. We do something I really like, namely cyphering (I believe it's called like that, not sure though). It's basically this:
237
148 -
---------
089
Like I just said, I really like that, so I don't mind helping the children while they're practicing. Some have some difficulties as soon as you have to subtract, for example, 8 from 7, because that's impossible (it's not, you'd just get -1, but for kids aged 7-8, it's impossible, okay?), so you have to borrow a bit from the number in front of them. But you've taken it from there, so you can't use it in that calculation as well. Here you see the reason why I'm not a maths teacher.

At 12:00 is lunchtime and I finally finish HP5! Which is my 5th book to finish reading in 2017! I continue reading Pride & Prejudice, but I also have some short conversations with the teachers. One of them has a son who lives in Spijkenisse, I think, and she asks me where I live. 'Near Eindhoven', I tell her. 'Do you study in Eindhoven?', she asks me. 'No,' I tell her, 'I'm still at secondary school.' And she just stands there like holy s..., which I find fairly funny. A bit later on during lunchtime, while I'm reading Pride & Prejudice, I notice Mrs. Block's reading with me. I look up and she says 'I was just looking what you're reading. It's really impressive that you can read Pride & Prejudice with only 4,5 years of English lessons.' I explain that I have had quite some classes in English, like history and mathematics. While that is very normal to me, it seems even more impressive to her, so I feel myself turning red, but it was quite nice getting complimented on my English, since I'm here for my English.

After lunchtime, a boy, I believe he's called Eugene, comes to me and asks: 'Do you know Minecraft?'. I tell him I do. 'Do you play it as well?', he asks. I answer with a yes. He starts telling all about things he's build in Minecraft, which I find really funny. After a few minutes, we start with the lesson. Mrs. Block has a meeting with Mrs. Rhodes from the infant school, so we have another teacher, who introduces herself to me as Sofie/Sophie. She tells the kids about the Greek gods and if there's a fun topic to talk about, it are Greek gods. They're all really bad tempered and jealous and it causes beautiful stories to happen. Sofie/Sophie only tells the things they're gods of and their relationships however, not the real fun stories. For example how Dionysus was born out of Zeus' leg, because Zeus cheated on Hera. Hera became angry on the woman with who Zeus had cheated on her and she convinced the woman to ask Zeus to show his true self. Zeus did and the house and the woman went up in flames. Zeus and Hermes (he comes in the story at some point) cut out the baby (6 months old I believe) from the woman her stomach and put it in Zeus' leg to become a full grown baby. But, of course, you don't tell that to kids aged 7-8. These kids do, however, laugh when the name 'Uranus' is mentioned, which I can totally understand, let's be honest.

From 14:00 to 15:00 the class has rugby, which is kind of boring for me, because all I can do is watch. Not that I want to join, because all the kids are covered in mud when the lesson finishes. Alex gets smacked on the ground somewhere during the lesson, so I walk him to the office, where he gets a 'I got bumped on the head' sticker.

After school I don't really do much interesting. Finn and Billy go kickboxing because they have an important fight this saturday. Because of this, we eat really late, around 20:30. It's 23:00 now, so I'm gonna sleep.

I'll write again tomorrow!

Because I again don't have any pictures, here's a picture of me with a thumbs up :)

  • 09 Maart 2017 - 06:17

    Lisette, Bart, Alana En Toby:

    Ha Kim,

    Happy Birthday !! Gefeliciteerd met je verjaardag, hopelijk vier je het vandaag alvast een beetje in York. Hele fijne dag !!

    Knuffel,
    Alana, Toby, Bart en Lisette

  • 09 Maart 2017 - 07:19

    Sandra Martens:

    Ha die jarige job Kim,

    Hieperdepiep Hoera!!!!! Happy 16th birthday!!

    Geniet van je eerste echte "engelse" verjaardag, ik ben nu al benieuwd naar je blog van vandaag. Vast een blog waarin je schrijft hoe de hele klas je toezong en je bedolven werd onder de knuffels van alle kinderen en juffen ;-). En dan thuis bij Julie, Kiera en the boys, waarschijnlijk een speciale behandeling zoals alleen de broertjes die kunnen geven, het zal vast en zeker een onvergetelijke dag worden!

    Xxx mama


  • 09 Maart 2017 - 12:54

    Jolanda:

    Hallo die Kim!
    Leuk je verhalen te lezen maar bovenal van harte gefeliciteerd met je verjaardag daar in York! Ook weer leuk om mee te maken! Weer een ervaring rijker die ze je niet meer afpakken!

    Groetjes Jolanda


  • 09 Maart 2017 - 13:00

    Ronnie, Saskia, Bryan En Aniek:

    Hoi Kim

    Proficiat met je 16de verjaardag!!!
    Hopelijk verwennen ze je daar in York goed!!!

    Een heel fijne dag vandaag,
    groetjes Ronnie, Saskia, Bryan en Aniek

  • 11 Maart 2017 - 16:37

    Opa En Oma Martens:

    Zo Kim,we hebben echt genoten van je reisverslag.Mijn engels is niet zo goed,maar het meeste heb ik toch begrepen.Leuk wat ze gedaan hebben om jou een fijne verjaardag te bezorgen.Nog proficiat en voor morgen een goede reis en ik zie je zondag op jouw feestje.Groetjes,opa en oma Martens.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kim

Hi! I'm going to York for my internship and I'll keep a blog to keep you up-to-date with my super amazing adventures... No just kidding, my adventures aren't very super amazing hahaha

Actief sinds 14 Feb. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 301
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8430

Voorgaande reizen:

25 Februari 2017 - 12 Maart 2017

York internship

Landen bezocht: