Sixteen, singing and super || York day 13 - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu Sixteen, singing and super || York day 13 - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu

Sixteen, singing and super || York day 13

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kim

09 Maart 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

I wake up around 07:00 (I woke up a few times during the night as well...) and I think: Yes! It's my birthday! I'm finally 16 years old! We can go swordfighting with Latin now! The first thing I do is taking the envelope that has been next to my bed since monday. It is a birthdaycard from Tom and my parents, wishing me a happy birthday. Yay! I dress myself and take my phone. I expect about 3 messages from people wishing me a happy birthday. IT ARE 14 MESSAGES IN 7 DIFFERENT CHATS FROM 12 DIFFERENT PEOPLE! I send 'Thank you' to everyone and post a picture on instagram with my evolution from 2008 to 2017. I go to the kitchen where Finn, Billy and Julie are already waiting and they sing Happy Birthday as soon as I enter. Julie has decorated the kitchen with some balloons and I even get a card from them wishing me a happy birthday! Julie gives me a little present as well, that my mom had given her on the sunday I arrived here. It's a bracelet and I really like it. We eat pancakes for breakfast, because Finn and Billy wanted that and they used my birthday as an excuse to actually get pancakes for breakfast.

At the Junior School, I don't tell anyone that it's my birthday, because it's really awkward when people sing for you. Around 09:30, however, Mr. Green, the headmaster, enters the classroom and says: 'It's somebody's birthday today.' I try to keep a straight face while all the kids are looking at each other. 'Ethan, is it your birthday?', mr. Green asks. Ethan shakes his head. 'Oliver, is it your birthday?', he asks. Oliver shakes his head as well. 'Connie, is it your birthday?', but also Connie shakes his head. 'Who's birthday is it?', some kids ask. 'It's Kim's birthday', he says. BAM. 30 pairs of eyes looking at me. 'Happy birthday to you (...) happy birthday to you!', all the kids sing to me. Even though I find it really awkward, it is really sweet. 'Would you have told us, if mr. Green didn't say it?', Connie asks. I tell her I probably wouldn't have.

During playtime, I realise that Julie has put a cupcake and a chocolatelolly in my lunchbox as a surprise. The chocolatelolly was a pink pig; its always nice to have a reminder of your dad and brother ;). And about the cupcake: If diabetes and obesity would have spend a fun night together, that cupcake would be the result 9 months later. I save the cupcake for lunchtime, but eat the chocolatelolly during playtime.

In between playtime and lunchtime, the class has Spanish. The Spanish teacher is really nice and her son studies in Maastricht. The class learns the days of the week in Spanish, so I learn those as well! Lundes, martes, jueves, sabado and domingo are the ones I remember. It are Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday.

Later on, when we're home again, Kiera tells me that we're going out for dinner. Yay! We go to Cosmo, which is an all-you-can-eat restaurant. It tastes really good, so when we're finished, I'm entirely stuffed and I feel like I'm gonna explode. In the car ride back, Finn and Billy make up a beautiful song about diarrhea and it's really funny. Once we are back at Julie's, I see I have a missed call from my parents. I call them and we have a nice chat. It was really nice talking to them. I really like it in England, but I can't wait to go home on Sunday.

As you might have noticed, I only covered the important parts of the day, since I'm really tired. I've been tired the last few days and I think it is because I keep waking up throughout the night. Well...

I'll write again tomorrow!

  • 10 Maart 2017 - 07:04

    Eva:

    I'm glad you had a great birthday!!

  • 10 Maart 2017 - 10:21

    Jolanda :

    Super leuk kim om te lezen hoe Jij je verjaardag hebt gevierd! En ook dat het gezin er voor jou ook een speciale dag van heeft gemaakt inclusief ballonnen.
    Jammer van dat roze varken dat dan weer wel

  • 10 Maart 2017 - 14:14

    Jasper Ter Horst:

    Happy belated birthday!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kim

Hi! I'm going to York for my internship and I'll keep a blog to keep you up-to-date with my super amazing adventures... No just kidding, my adventures aren't very super amazing hahaha

Actief sinds 14 Feb. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 302
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8424

Voorgaande reizen:

25 Februari 2017 - 12 Maart 2017

York internship

Landen bezocht: