Trollz, television and too late || York day 6 - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu Trollz, television and too late || York day 6 - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu

Trollz, television and too late || York day 6

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kim

02 Maart 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

It's 08:25. Finn and Julie have left about half an hour ago, but Kiera picks Billy and me up. I have to be there at 08:30, something we don't manage. Kiera comes from her... boyfriend I guess? She's pregnant from him, so I guess boyfriend? Or is there a different name for it? Well, it's an hour away from Julie's house and the traffic seemedto be terrible, so I'm too late. Julie had already called in to say I would be later, so when I arrive, it's not that much of a deal.

I enter the classroom and all kids are dressed up. Mrs. Rhodes is dressed up as well. Wait, why is everyone dressed up? We go to the hall for assembly and it appears that the entire school has dressed up. But why? One of the teachers explains that it is because of World Book Day. I really like the costumes. There are about 5 or 6 Harry Potters and 2 Hermiones, 3 Big Friendly Giants and 3 Willy Wonkas (I love Roald Dahl's books so much!), 3 pikachus, 2 or 3 kids dressed up as Mary Poppins, which is super awesome since I love Mary Poppins), a gruffalo, a Darth Vader, a rabbit from Alice in Wonderland, the girltroll from the Trollzmovie and a lot more! What I really like about little kids dressing up, is that they really dress up as something/someone and not just try to look as sexy as possible. One of the teachers dressed up as Buzz Lightyear and it looks super awesome. As an improvised last-minute costume, I just wear my Hufflepuff scarf for the entire day; Hufflepuff pride it is!

During the first break, I don't go outside, since I'm thirsty and want something to drink. So I take 'Harry Potter en de Orde van de Feniks' and go to the staff room to grab some tea. When the break is over, I go back to class and get hugged (yay) and then some kids ask why I wasn't outside. 'I was really thirsty', I tell them. We continue with the lesson and they do phonics. I find phonics really boring to be honest, because I can't really do something. When that's over, we go talk about the life cycle of a butterfly again. I go help at Luke's table (Luke is the Mrs. Kim boy) and he asks if he can read to me again later that day. I tell him he has to ask Mrs. Rhodes. I do find it really funny that he wants to read his book to me again, especially since I like his book as well. When we go read however, it's not Luke who has to read to me, but Jan. Jan starts in the middle of a story, so I can't completely follow it, but it doesn't matter, since we only read for 10 minutes and Jan has some trouble reading, so we don't get far in the story anyway. I do like listening to it though, since he really makes the words by reading the letters (House > h-ou-s-e > house).

During lunch, I just read my book, since I'm not quite interested in the teachers their kids. I do really enjoy my lunch though. Until now, my lunch each day consists out of 2 sandwiches with ham and cucumber, 2 small chocolatethings (about the size of a Mars, but then it are other things), either an orange or a banana and a small bag of crisps. I also have a waterbottle with me all the times. Lunchbreak lasts for an hour, so I can read a lot, which I really enjoy.

After lunch we continue with the lifecycles of butterflies and frogs, I go sit with Isabel's group and start sharpening the colouring pencils, so I still feel kind of productive. When everyone's done, Mrs. Rhodes asks me to order all the papers about the life cycles into the kids their folders, which is a nightmare. Not all the papers have a name, they're in no logical order, neither are the folders where I have to put them in. At the end I stress out, because I miss one paper and I'm scared I've lost it, but then it seems that one kid has put it in their schoolbag to take home...

During the break in the afternoon, I actually go outside and Hannah immediately asks me where I've been that morning. She dressed up as a cat. We first play a version of tag and then we go and find a skipping rope. I'm wearing my black dress which is longer on the back than it is on the front though, so the rope gets stuck in there half of the time. At the end of the break, Hannah kidnaps me to her class again and, when her teacher says she has to let me go, I go back to class 6.

Since it's World Book Day, some kids have brought their favourite books with them, so they can share them with their classmates. I continue foldering the lifecycles of butterflies and frogs. Some kids are interested in the Dutch version of Harry Potter, so they go ahead and "read" that one. Then it's time to go home.

Julie has to work today, so she can't pick us up immediately. Billy has maths after school, so I wait in the library of the Junior school to pick him up. While waiting, which takes about 45 minutes, I read Harry Potter. Billy meets me around 16:15 and he has Mr. Green with him. 'Aah Billy, is this your student?', he asks. He introduces himself to me and takes me to Mrs. Blocks, the teacher I'll be helping next week. They both seem really nice to me, so I'm already looking forward to next week!

Billy and I go to Billy's grandma's house to wait until Julie picks us up. Their grandma is in Spain right now. We just watch some television and when there are commercials I read Harry Potter. I've brought Pride & Prejudice with me as well, which I like as well, it's just that I like Harry Potter better. Around 17:40 Julie picks us up. We go to Tesco real quick to buy some bread and then we go home.

Around 19:20 we have dinner. It's really good. We have smashed potatoes, chicken, peas, brocolli and yorkshire pudding. Yorkshire pudding isn't actually pudding. It's a sort of pastry to which you add some gravy and it tastes really good. After that, Billy, Finn and I have ice cream, since Julie bought it at Tesco. There are only 3 in a pack, so if Joel or Kiera would have been home, we would have to wait until they were gone until we could eat it, but they weren't home, so we didn't have to wait.

Right now I've just been watching some YouTube and I'm about to go to sleep. No pictures today though, sorry

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kim

Hi! I'm going to York for my internship and I'll keep a blog to keep you up-to-date with my super amazing adventures... No just kidding, my adventures aren't very super amazing hahaha

Actief sinds 14 Feb. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 274
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8454

Voorgaande reizen:

25 Februari 2017 - 12 Maart 2017

York internship

Landen bezocht: