School, skype and sleep || York day 10 - Reisverslag uit Otley, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu School, skype and sleep || York day 10 - Reisverslag uit Otley, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu

School, skype and sleep || York day 10

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kim

06 Maart 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Otley

I wake up and I feel so tired. Throughout the entire night, I woke up every hour or so, which was really annoying. Well, I wake up and I dress myself. I can wear jeans to my internship! Yes! I have cereal again. I normally have the typical cornflakes, but we ran out of them, so I take some other cereal, which tastes quite good as well, but I don't like them as much as the other cereal. Around 08:10 we leave the house.

We arrive at the Junior School and I get this visitor sticker that doesn't stick very well, so I put it in my pocket. I go to Mrs. Blocks her class, but Mrs. Blocks doesn't work on mondays, so there's another teacher. She says to me that I can go sit in the back and a little bit later, the students enter the classroom.

The group starts by reading their books and doing the register. I spot 3 Harry Potter books, so I'm happy. After 20 minutes, so at 9 o'clock, they put their books away and do a multiplicationtest that takes 5 minutes. Keep in mind that I'm still in the back of the classroom, looking at how everyone's doing this. When they're finished with the small test, they talk about Ancient Greece. Yes! I know stuff about this! Those 4,5 years of Latin and 3,5 years of Greek have not been for nothing! I'm pretty proud of myself during the presentation, because I actually know stuff and yay!

After that, they have assembly. The entire school gathers and do prayers and some other catholic things. They also find it necessary to introduce me to the entire school. Yay, 200 people looking my way, while I'm sitting there really awkwardly... They also mention that I stay with Billy, so for 5 seconds, 200 people look at Billy instead of me. After about 20 minutes of assembly, everyone goes back to their class.

After assembly, it's playtime, but I decide to stay inside. I go sit in the staffroom and make myself some tea. I don't take my book with me, since it looks like I don't want to socialize, but since there are only 2 teachers in the staffroom who discuss their families and stuff, I reach for my book again.

After playtime, it's time for mathematics. I can finally do something! At 11:00 the lesson starts and at 11:25 they can work on their homework and if they don't understand something, I go to help them.
Before everyone thinks I'm reading the entire time: I'm not. I only do this during breaktime, since I don't feel the urge to discuss family problems of teachers. During the lessons, I follow the teachers explanations and try to do something.

At 12:00 it's lunchtime. I take my bag with me, which contains my lunch. I go sit in the staffroom and eat my lunch. Since the teachers discuss their families again, I take my book after about 20 minutes. I don't take my phone, since I feel like a phone is even more rude than a book. That's my personal opinion though.

At 13:00 lunchbreak is over and we go back to class. The kids start by reading for 15 minutes and after that, they have religious education from another teacher. They learn about Wudu, which is the preparation of muslims before they pray. I can't really do anything, but we're in another room, so I walk around and read everything they've put on the wall. There's also a part about Ancient Greece. They have some pictures of Greek gods and it says 'ΓΟΔΣ'. And I just stand there thinking: But 'θεος' is Greek for god... Then I realise that it literally says 'GODS'. Γ = G, Ο = O Δ = D and Σ = S. At 14:15 we go back to our own classroom again.

The last hour of the day, the kids have music. They learn about the orchestra and especially the snare instruments, like violins and harps. After 30 minutes, the kids have to make their own rap about something they've just learned. At first I don't understand, because it sounds like the teacher says 'wrap' and I'm just sitting there like: what does a wrap have to do with music? As soon as she gives the kids a beat, I understand she means a rap. At 15:15 the schoolday ends and we go home.

When we're home, I check my phone, watch some YouTube, the basic type of stuff. We have dinner pretty early, around 16:40. I don't know the names of the things we've eaten, but it tasted good. Around 18:30 I start skyping and around 19:00 two other people join, so that's really nice. It's 20:10 rn and the skype call is still going on. I plan to go to sleep around 21:30, since I didn't sleep very well last night.

I'll write again tomorrow!

I didn't make any pictures today though :(

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kim

Hi! I'm going to York for my internship and I'll keep a blog to keep you up-to-date with my super amazing adventures... No just kidding, my adventures aren't very super amazing hahaha

Actief sinds 14 Feb. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 327
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8459

Voorgaande reizen:

25 Februari 2017 - 12 Maart 2017

York internship

Landen bezocht: