Learning, lazy and last day || York day 14 - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu Learning, lazy and last day || York day 14 - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu

Learning, lazy and last day || York day 14

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kim

10 Maart 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

Today at school, it's my last day. The day starts with some maths. I normally stay with Mrs. Blocks, but she tells me I can go to Mrs. Carrington's class, because she has the better mathematicians, so that might be more fun for me. It is really nice to help those kids with maths. I don't really know how to explain it, but I try my best anyway. Around 10:10, we go to the hall for assembly/worship. On friday everyone who has done something that week can take their certificate with them and they can show it to the school (so for example winning a competition or getting a swimming diploma). They also praise the children who have represented school either in a quiz or with sport. Another thing they do is 'Star of the week', which I think is there to motivate kids to do their best. The last thing they do is giving the house cup. They actually have houses?! I thought that was a Harry Potter thing, but it's an actual thing, with house points and stuff. It's not as big a thing as in Harry Potter though.

In between playtime and lunch, we do literacy. The kids have to write a descriptive piece of text, which basically means they have to put as many adverbs and adjectives in one text. I go help Lucas, who is really nice. He isn't very good with writing and reading, so that's the reason why I go and hell him.

After lunch the class goes reading and Lucas reads to me, so he can practice. He is reading a book which is an alphabet of records. We read the 'Q' and the 'R'. The 'Q' is Quad Riding, which ks about a man who is blind and deaf and still has a few records on his name. The 'R' is Rollercoaster Riding, which is about a man who has been riding a rollercoaster for 401 hours! Every 12 hours he would get a 1-hour break to shower and change clothes. He had to eat, drink and sleep in the rollercoaster though. We want to start on the 'S', which is Serpent Bathing, but the class has to change into their PE kits. Before we go to PE, Mrs. Blocks read a bit more of the story they were reading. At 14:00 we go to PE, where the kids go do tennis. It is given by students who are learning to become tennis teachers. It's really funny to watch and when it's 15:00 we go back to the classroom.

Mrs. Block reads a bit more of the story while the kids are changing back into their uniforms. Around 15:15 Mrs. Block and the kids thank me for being with their class and some kids ask if I'll come back sometime. Mrs. Block says that I could send an email and that they could send one back. The class likes that idea, so I say I will send them some pictures of my school, so they know where I go to school. 'You still go to school?', some kids ask. I tell them I do. When it's 15:20 I get to choose which table can leave first. I choose the table from Oliver Wood (there are 3 Olivers and 3 Olivias in that class). Some kids say 'Bye Kim, thank you for being with our class', which is extremely cute. Some kids come to hug me and Connie won't let me go. 'Shall I put you in my suitcase?', I say jokingly. When Kiera, Billy and I leave the playground, I hear some more 'Bye Kim!'s and then my internship has officially come to an end.

After school I'm home alone, because Finn and Billy go practice for martial arts and Kiera and Julie are working. I decide to watch Hercules and it's timed almost perfectly, because about 15 minutes later we're having diner. We have hotdogs for diner. Finn measures them and tells us they are 26 centimeters long. They tasted really good though.

Right now I've just been making a planning for reading Pride & Prejudice and I should be able to finish it by next week if I follow it. For the rest of the evening I haven't really been doing anything... Tomorrow Finn and Billy will have their big fights so we'll go and watch. I'm really curious.

I'll write again tomorrow!

  • 11 Maart 2017 - 09:05

    Sandra:

    Ha die Kim,

    Wens Finn & Billy heel veel succes voor hun wedstrijd van vanavond en geniet van je laatste dagje in York.
    Wij zijn er nu al bijna klaar voor om je morgen op te komen halen !

    Groetjes papa, mama en Tom

  • 12 Maart 2017 - 22:01

    Eva:

    Lol house points are a thing?! I hope you have had very much fun on your internship!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kim

Hi! I'm going to York for my internship and I'll keep a blog to keep you up-to-date with my super amazing adventures... No just kidding, my adventures aren't very super amazing hahaha

Actief sinds 14 Feb. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 1121
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8429

Voorgaande reizen:

25 Februari 2017 - 12 Maart 2017

York internship

Landen bezocht: