Pancakes, Potter and playbackshow || York day 4 - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu Pancakes, Potter and playbackshow || York day 4 - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Kim Martens - WaarBenJij.nu

Pancakes, Potter and playbackshow || York day 4

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kim

28 Februari 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

Let's just take a picture of my clothes for my parents today, I think to myself. *Click* Nope, too awkward. *Click* Oh my God how can my face even look like that?! *Click* Well, this one is least terrible, let's just send this one.

'Finn, you have to leave now! No, don't put on the television! You have to leave!', Julie yells. 'Billy, brush your teeth!' Finn has just left, so Billy is next. 'Billy, brush your teeth!', Julie screams, 'I keep repeating myself in he morning,' she says to me, 'Billy, brush your teeth!' It's 08:05, so we have to leave pretty soon. I put my lunch in my bag and go sit in the car. Soon enough, Billy is there as welp and we leave.

'What is 'three' in Dutch?', one of the girls from Class 6, Year 2 asks me. 'Drie', I reply. And 'tree'?', another girl asks. 'That's a boom', I answer. 'Boom', they both repeat. 'And what's a 'dog' in Dutch?', Sofia asks. This is another Sofia than the Sofia from yesterday. The Sofia from yesterday is in reception, which would be 'Group 1' in The Netherlands. This Sofia is in Year 2, which would be 'Group 3'. 'Een hond', I say. 'Hond', she says. It's so funny to hear them pronounce Dutch words.

'Who want sugar on their pancake?', the teacher asks. Mrs. Rhodes is helping in another class, so there's another teachers from who I can't remember the name. It's pancake day today, so all the children from Year 2 get a pancake. They can choose from a lot of toppings: Syrup, sugar, strawberry sauce and lemon juice. Some children put all four on their pancake. It wouldn't be my choice, but they seemed to like it.

'Are you reading Harry Potter?', I ask Sofia. She's reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone. I've brought Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix with me to England. In Dutch, but that doesn't matter. In fact, Sofia and another girl from who I haven't caught the name, are very interested in it. They turn to the first page and start reading it out loud. They reach the word 'die' and scream out 'die?!'. I start to laugh and explain that it's pronounced differently and that it doesn't mean the same either. A boy, I believe he's called Luc, joins us and starts spoiling some things [SPOILER ALERT!]: 'I'm only in part 4, but I know that Dumbledore dies in the Halfblood Prince. He's killed by Severus Snape'. 'I know that,' Sofia replies, 'and Dobby dies as well! In this part, doesn't he?', she points at my book. 'No,' I tell her, 'Dobby dies in the seventh book'. 'Do you have the eighth book as well?', another boy asks. 'You mean the Cursed Child?'. He nods. 'Yeah I do, but I don't think it as good as the original books.' I find it really funny to see that all these kids, who are only 6 or 7 years old, are reading and watching Harry Potter already.

After lunchtime I go to a Year 1 class. I have to take some childen apart to let them write the alphabet. After that we go outside to play and I'm reminded why I don't go outside during winter if I don't have to: it's cold! Most children run around and some come to me to ask questions about my name and that kind of stuff. After about 20 minutes the bell rings again and suddenly everyone goes quiet. This takes me by surprise. I already knew that they had to line up, but that they go completely quiet, I didn't see that coming. They tidy up and then walk inside in their lines.

We're inside and I get to read 3 stories to the entire class. I first read a story about Harry and his dinosaurs. After that I read a story about all kinds of vehicles. There isn't that much text, so I hold the book so the children can see the pictures and I read the words upsidedown. After that, I let the children choose between 2 books and we go read 'Bob, the man on the moon'. Even though there was more text in this one, I decide to still show the pictures to the children. It turns out to be a good decision, because there are hidden aliens on every page, so the children have a lot of fun pointing out the aliens.

The last 5 minutes of the day, the teacher tells them a bit about me. She tells them my name, age and that I'm from The Netherlands. 'How do you say 'Hello' in Dutch?'. 'Hallo', I say. 'Well that isn't that hard, how do you say 'goodbye'?', she asks. 'Doei', I tell them. They all pronounce it like 'do we' so that's really funny. 'One more, how do you say 'breakfast', in Dutch?', she asks. I tell her it's 'ontbijt', but they give up on pronouncing that one. After that, Ethan asks: 'But if you come from The Netherlands, how come you're so fantastic in our language?'. I explain that I have some of my classes in English. After that, it's time to go home.

We have dinner around 19:45. It's pancakeday, so we eat pancakes. Julie puts on some Queen music, which isn't her smartest move. It starts with Bohemian Rhapsody and Billy and Finn start a very impressive dinner show where they mime the entire song and play airguitar. I join in a couple of time with the miming, but not with the headbanging. I laugh a lot and it's great, but you should have been there to admire the entire thing.

Right now it's about 21:15 and I've been writing this blog for 40 minutes or something already. In about 15 minutes, Tony, Julie's husband, will come home from his businesstrip to Amsterdam. He'll leave tomorrow morning again, to Berlin I believe. After that I'll just have a quick shower and then I'll go to sleep.

I'll write again tomorrow!

[Some information to go with the pancake picture]
The one in the back is Billy, the one in the front is Finn
I don't know why it's upsidedown though

  • 04 Maart 2017 - 23:09

    Eva:

    Zooo leuk omg!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kim

Hi! I'm going to York for my internship and I'll keep a blog to keep you up-to-date with my super amazing adventures... No just kidding, my adventures aren't very super amazing hahaha

Actief sinds 14 Feb. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 266
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8468

Voorgaande reizen:

25 Februari 2017 - 12 Maart 2017

York internship

Landen bezocht: